Sydney
16:14
Beijing
13:14
Cape Town
07:14
Los Angeles
22:14
Tokyo
14:14
Mumbai
10:44
London
06:14
New York
01:14

Colin Chapman of 360 Logistics Entering Everest Marathon for Heart Kids New Zealand!

22nd March 2018

Colin Chapman of 360 Logistics Entering Everest Marathon for Heart Kids New Zealand!
Colin Chapman of 360 Logistics Entering Everest Marathon for Heart Kids New Zealand!

360 Logistics Group have been our UFO members in New Zealand since 2003 and many of you will have met their Director and Major Shareholder, Colin Chapman at our past Annual Meetings. Colin has a passion for adventure racing and has entered the highest marathon in the world which takes place on Mount Everest! In addition to the challenge of the marathon itself, Colin and 360 are using the event to raise funds for their chosen charity, Heart Kids New Zealand.

Colin and 3 friends will depart New Zealand on the 14th May destined for Lukla Airport in Nepal with one of the most dangerous landing strips in the world. From there, they start a 10-day trek to Everest Base Camp at 18,000ft where the marathon begins on the 29th May. This date is significant to commemorate the first successful ascent of Everest by Sherpa Tenzing Norgay and Sir Edmund Hillary in 1953.

"We are using the adventure to raise money for Heart Kids and have set ourselves a huge target of NZ $250,000. The Heart Kids charity was set up nearly 40 years ago to help the 12-13 babies (and their families) that are born in New Zealand every week with life threatening heart complications. Tragically, 30–40 babies a year become heart angels."

"We have come up with a unique way of fundraising and are seeking to sell 42 'wish flags' for a minimum of NZ $3500 each (after tax deductions, a net cost to your company of NZ $2520). The team will take 42 individual wish flags with them to Base Camp on Everest and will fly them on the eve of the marathon. Each wish flag represents 1km of the marathon we'll be competing in.

You can purchase one or more wishes to be taken on this journey with your logo printed on the flag along with the child's wish. After the adventure is complete and your wish flag has returned from Everest, it will be framed along with a photo of it flying at Base Camp and sent to you."

"Please visit www.runningeverestforheartkids.co.nz and click on the supporter's page for to get an idea of the challenge as well as photos, training updates, details on the fundraising campaign and most importantly, to donate!"

"We deeply appreciate any support and spreading the word amongst your family, friends and colleagues. A big thank you to Rachel Humphrey who has already pledged a donation on behalf of the UFO Head Office."

All at the UFO Head Office are looking forward to seeing updates from Colin's brave adventure!

http://www.runningeverestforheartkids.co.nz

http://www.360lg.co.nz

http://www.heartkids.org.nz