Sydney
17:18
Beijing
14:18
Cape Town
08:18
Los Angeles
23:18
Tokyo
15:18
Mumbai
11:48
London
07:18
New York
02:18

Member Interview: Jaime Ponce of Freight & Cargo Services in Mexico

23rd January 2017

Member Interview: Jaime Ponce of Freight & Cargo Services in Mexico
Member Interview: Jaime Ponce of Freight & Cargo Services in Mexico

Freight & Cargo Services in Mexico (UFO members since 2005) were established in 2001 and are a ISO 9001-200 certified company. This month, we will be interviewing Director of Logistics at Freight & Cargo Services, Jaime Ponce (pictured right).

How did you first get into the freight industry?
18 years ago, through a friend who is now my partner. He invited me to work at the company where he worked and 3 years later, we decided to start our own business with a total of only 4 staff, including us.

Tell us about a project, shipment or accomplishment that you consider to be the most significant in your career?
The first time we visited a gold mine in the USA, 10 years ago, to move the structure and equipment to a mine in Sonora, Mexico. We did not know the complexity and magnitude of the project. However, we were the only company that agreed to carry out the project, which was one of the largest and most important for our company. The project lasted just over 18 months, moving an average of 14 trucks (40' flat-beds) per day, including Saturdays and Sundays, from the US to Mexico, along with numerous air shipments. Once the structure of the mine started working, we made a circuit of trucks (40' flat-beds) from the City of Hermosillo, Sonora, to the gold mine (145km away). Eight trucks carrying supplies were circulated daily to the mine for more than three years.

What drives you in your professional life?
God is my main and biggest motivation. Thanks to him I have everything that gives me happiness, peace and joy in life - my family, a home, health, and work. All personal and professional actions, I commend him. Every day of my life, God is my greatest motivation!

What are the current trends that you see in transportation as far as Mexico is concerned?
Mexico is a country that is growing quickly and steadily. Even as the transportation of goods between the US and Mexico has increased a lot, mainly by land, trade with Asia (import & export) continues to be the main objective in the short and medium term.

Specifically regarding export, the industry has grown favourably as Mexico has become a leading exporter in various production sectors such as electronics and raw materials (in particular, Mexico is a world leader producer and exporter of flat screens), coffee (Mexico is the largest producer of organic coffee in the world), papaya (main producer with more than 120,000tns), avocado (main producer with over 1.2m tons), smartphones (3rd largest exporter worldwide) and silver (world leader in silver production with over 162.2m ounces of silver).

What do you enjoy to do in your spare time?
Spending time with my family (wife and daughter), and friends, who are all part of our family - brothers, sisters, nephews, nieces etc.

If you were an animal, what would you be and why?
The elephant is very intelligent. They are usually very quiet, but with a huge potential to respond quickly and strongly to any situation.

If you could meet a famous person, who would it be and why?
I would like to meet a great world leader (the President of a powerful nation) and tell him about Jesus, my Lord.

What is your best childhood memory?
Different trips with family and friends since childhood up to around 18 years of age.

If you could travel anywhere, where would you go and why?
I would like to visit Russia and Morocco as they are two countries that I have not had the chance to visit and they seem very diverse, interesting places.

What is a skill you'd like to learn and why?
I would learn to sing - it has always caught my attention.

http://www.fcsmexico.com