Sydney
23:40
Beijing
21:40
Cape Town
15:40
Los Angeles
06:40
Tokyo
22:40
Mumbai
19:10
London
14:40
New York
09:40

UFO Fundraising for MSFs Fight Against Ebola

30th January 2015

The UFO Foundation provides the opportunity for Members to be able to raise funds for worthwhile causes through annual fundraising at our Annual Network Meetings. Please see our Reference section to read about our previous efforts.

In March, UFO Members will gather to attend our 2015 Annual Network Meeting in Bangkok. This year we will be raising funds for Médecins Sans Frontières/Doctors Without Borders (MSF), an international, independent, medical humanitarian organisation that delivers emergency aid to people based on need, irrespective of race, religion, gender or political affiliation.

Since the Ebola outbreak was declared in March 2014 MSF, in partnership with the Ministries of Health, has provided care to nearly 5000 Ebola patients - almost 25% of all declared cases. MSF have 325 international and 3800 national staff working on the ground, run 8 Ebola Treatment Centres and are in clinical trials of experimental treatments. MSF also started addressing non-Ebola health needs. During the first week in January, MSF teams in Sierra Leone distributed 1.8 million antimalarial treatments.

Our fund raising will go specifically towards their work in response to the Ebola outbreak and 100% of our donations will go towards their work in the field. To donate or for further details, please contact the UFO Head Office.

http://www.msf.org.uk