Sydney
17:03
Beijing
14:03
Cape Town
08:03
Los Angeles
22:03
Tokyo
15:03
Mumbai
11:33
London
06:03
New York
01:03

SOS Children's Villages in Vietnam Receive US $1400 from UFO Members

Our 17th Annual Network Meeting raised US $1400 for the SOS Children's Village, which started its work in Da Nang in 1993. Today, the SOS Social Centre offers a family strengthening programme to members of the surrounding communities, which aims to identify struggling families and provide all the support they need so that their children will be safe and healthy and can attend school.

The village cooperate with local authorities and organisations in order to reach out to 420 children this year and aim to support as many vulnerable, at-risk, abandoned or orphaned children from the neighbourhood surrounding the SOS Children’s Village as possible. For parents who are struggling to look after their children, SOS provide monthly grants so that they can meet basic needs. They also offer health counselling and psychological support.

For other 117 children who are no longer able to live with their parents, 16 SOS families can provide a loving home. In each family, they live with their brothers and sisters, affectionately cared for by their SOS mother.

Together with children from the neighbourhood, they go to the SOS Kindergarten, where 199 children are taught. The SOS Hermann Gmeiner School with its 27 classrooms, laboratories, a library and a canteen offers classes up to secondary level. It is now serving 1032 students. Both the kindergarten and the school are open to children from the neighbourhood with additional scholarships for 80 students from poor families.

115 young people from the SOS Children's Village usually move on to the Youth House and/or SOS Youth Programme when they start a vocational training course or go on to higher education. With the support of qualified counsellors, they develop perspectives for their future, learn to shoulder responsibility and increasingly make their own decisions. At Da Nang, SOS also offer young people workshops for basic technical training.

Communications & Fund Development Director, Nguyen Vo Truc Giang said "We thank you very much for your offer to organize fund raising during UFO’s meeting in Da Nang this May 2018. Your kind initiatives will help us a lot in taking better care for orphans, abandoned children and giving more support to children from struggling families around Da Nang and Quang Nam area of Vietnam."

View thank you letter.