Sydney
17:46
Beijing
14:46
Cape Town
08:46
Los Angeles
22:46
Tokyo
15:46
Mumbai
12:16
London
06:46
New York
01:46

UFO Members Raise over $7800 for The Dream Trust in India

From 2012-2014, we raised over $7800 for The Dream Trust. The main object of the Trust is to help poor children with Type 1 Diabetes. People at large, in India, are not medically insured and have to buy their own insulin and syringes. Poor families find it difficult to commit a quarter of their monthly income for the healthcare required by a diabetic child. This is why they try to find short cuts which they wrongly believe will make treatment less expensive.

Please take time to listen to this short radio documentary. The majority of us are blissfully unaware of many issues going on in the world outside of our daily lives and it is only through journalists like Lucy Layock that we can learn about places like the Dream Trust.

This charity was chosen as it is close to the heart of UFO Chairwoman, Rachel Humphrey, who's youngest son, George (11 years) was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes in October 2010.

Rachel says "We are fortunate in the UK to have George's insulin and medication supplied by our health service. I understand that in India, many diabetic children from poor families suffer as their parents are sometimes unable to afford the medication that they need. I know the worry and fears for parents of diabetic children and hope that together, we can help them."

In addition to the above fund raising, the UFO Head Office sponsors 11 children and in November 2012, Rachel and her sister Mary, made a self funded trip to Nagpur to visit The Dream Trust .

http://www.dreamtrust.org/